Great victory for Franco Colapinto in Imola

In just his second weekend in the category, the Argentine Franco Colapinto gets on the Formula 3 podium for the first time and he does it no more and no less than taking victory in a mythical circuit such as Imolato add ten more points in the championship to be third with 22 units, behind Martins and Leclerc.

Starting from pole and after a good game in which he was able to escape from Kush Maini but not Brazilian Caio Collet, the Argentine began his defense of the top spot in the opening laps. At the start of lap four, when the use of DRS was enabled, the MP Motorsport driver took advantage of that advantage to easily overtake it on the main straight, although Pilar’s did not allow him to escape and it was below the line of the second of difference.

Although the two leaders had taken a small distance on Maini and Isack Hadjar, the forgetfulness of Zak O’Sullivan and Josep Maria Marti it caused the Virtual Safety Car to appear and later the Safety Car, due to the fact that the cars had been trapped in a complicated area, close to the track. At the restart on lap 12 the Argentine was able to hold off Hadjar’s attack well despite the fact that he had put the car alongside him at the Tamburello chicane.

(Photo: Dan Istitene – Formula 1)

On the next turn, a touch between his American partner Reece Ushijima and Federico Malvestiti caused another appearance by the safety car, which was on track for four laps. Action resumed at the opening of the 17th and once again Franco defended himself very well against the attacks of the French who went for everything. A brief exit from the track by Arthur Leclerc, who swept away several signaling signs on the track, forced a new VSC for a few moments.

Hadjar tried again to overtake the Argentine, always on the main straight and with Tamburello as the reference to try the maneuver, but Colapinto resisted all attempts with good defenses. In the last one he allowed him to come out better armed to approach Collet little by little, waiting for the right moment to recover what had been his in the first laps. Entering the last lap and with the DRS open, the VAR took advantage of that extra speed to overcome it and left the door open for Hadjar so that he can also go for the Brazilian.

However, a touch between these two riders arriving at the circuit’s first chicane took away their chances of being on the podium for both of them and paved the way for Franco, who with more than two seconds ahead Victor Martins and Jack Crawford just had to do a neat lap to see the grid for the first time from the first place. In this way, the Argentine flag flew again at the top and the verses of the Argentine national anthem sounded in Italian lands, as Juan Manuel Fangio did in the Italian GP three times, between 1953 and 1955.

With this victory Franco takes ten valuable points for the drivers’ championship, which now has him in third place with 22 points, two behind Arthur Leclerc and 12 behind Victor Martins, his escort in the sprint victory. The next race will be on Sunday at 3:50 in the morning with the feature race, in which Colapinto will start from 12th place.

pos Pilot Team Weather
one Franco Colapinto Van Amersfoort Racing 36m28.273s
two Victor Martins ART Grand Prix +2,640s
3 Jake Crawford Prema +2,700s
4 roman stanek trident +3,634s
5 Isaac Hadjar Hitech GP +4,088s
6 Zane Maloney trident +4,651s
7 Oliver Rasmussen trident +5,156s
8 kayleen frederick Hitech GP +5,500s
9 Alexander Smolyan MP Motorsport +5,844s
10 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing +6,420s
eleven Francesco Pizzo Charouz Racing System +6,614s
12 David Vidales racing fields +6,990s
13 Ollie Bearman Prema +7.185s
14 Arthur Leclerc Prema +7.663s
fifteen Brad Benavides carlin +9,341s
16 William Alatalo Jenzer Motorsport +10,261s
17 Hunter Yeany racing fields +10,901s
18 David Schumacher Charouz Racing System +11,372s
19 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System +13,988s
twenty Kush Maini MP Motorsport +15,008s
twenty-one Enzo Trulli carlin +15,913s
22 Nazim Azman Hitech GP +16,253s
23 Ido Cohen Jenzer Motorsport +21,137s
24 Caio Collet MP Motorsport +1 lap
ret Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix
ret Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport
ret Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing
ret Zak O’Sullivan carlin
ret Pepe Martin racing fields